Marine geology and geophysics

Marine geology and geophysics

Department of Marine Geology and Geophysics

ד"ר תימור כץ

The marine geology and geophysics department includes 3 senior researchers and 3 research assistants and specialists. The department maps the seafloor and sub-bottom and conducts studies on sedimentological processes along the coast to deep sea continuum including sediment fluxes, transport, accumulation, and geochemical interactions with the water column. In addition, members of our department operate the various geophysical instruments on the Bat-Galim research vessel and facilitate its navigation and the positioning of launched and deployed instruments as well as collect and analyze remote-sensing data.

 

Researchers
Skills and expertise
Mail
Dr. Timor Katz – Head of the department

Geochemistry, Geology, Sedimentology, Marine Geochemistry

timor@ocean.org.il
Dr. Gideon Tibor Geophysics, Geology, Geoinformatics (GIS), Paleo-seismology, Marine geophysics, Seabed mapping mor.kanari@ocean.org.il
Dr. Mor Kanari Geoinformatics (GIS), Seabed mapping, Marine geophysics, Remote sensing tiborg@ocean.org.il

 

Research Assistants Mail
Dr. Barak Galanti galanti@ocean.org.il
Asaf Giladi agiladi@ocean.org.il
Arik Golan arik@ocean.org.il